The NECP Board consists of members from the public sector, the cultural and historic environment, universities and colleges, business and the voluntary sector. It brings together arts and heritage partners from across the North East of England.

 

ANEC Chief Executives with lead responsibility for Culture:

Organisation Name Job Title Email
Durham County Council Terry Collins Chief Executive terry.collins@durham.gov.uk

 

Redcar and Cleveland Council Amanda Skelton Chief Executive amanda.skelton@redcar-cleveland.gov.uk

Local authority members on the NECP Board:

Organisation Name Job Title Email
Darlington Councillor Nick Wallis Portfolio holder for Leisure and Local Environment nick.wallis@darlington.gov.uk

 

Durham Councillor Simon Henig Leader of the Council simon.henig@durham.gov.uk

 

Gateshead Councillor Angela Douglas Cabinet Member, Culture, Sport and Leisure Cllr.adouglas@gateshead.gov.uk

 

Hartlepool Councillor Kevin Cranney Councillor – Elected representative kevin.cranney@hartlepool.gov.uk

 

Middlesbrough David Budd (Co-Chair) Elected Mayor (Co-Chair) david_budd@middlesbrough.gov.uk

 

Newcastle Councillor Kim McGuinness Portfolio holder for Communities and Facilities kim.mcguiness@newcastle.gov.uk

 

North Tyneside Councillor Eddie Darke Cabinet Member responsible for Leisure, Culture and Tourism eddie.darke@northtyneside.gov.uk

 

Northumberland Councillor Cath Homer Councillor – Elected representative cath.homer@northumberland.gov.uk
Redcar and Cleveland Councillor Carl Quartermain Cabinet Member for Tourism, Culture and Communication carl.quartermain@redcar-cleveland.gov.uk
South Tyneside Councillor Alan Kerr Deputy Leader of the Council cllr.alan.kerr@southtyneside.gov.uk
Stockton on Tees Councillor Norma Wilburn Councillor – Elected representative norma.wilburn@stockton.gov.uk
Sunderland Councillor John Kelly Portfolio Holder for Public Health, Wellness and Culture cllr.john.kelly@sunderland.gov.uk

 

 

Stakeholder members on the NECP Board:

Organisation Name Job Title Email
ARC Annabel Turpin Chief Executive annabel.turpin@arconline.co.uk
Beamish Museum Richard Evans Director RichardEvans@beamish.org.uk
Company of Others Nadia Iftkhar Artistic Director nadia@companyofothers.org.uk
Durham University Keith Bartlett Director of Culture keith.bartlett@durham.ac.uk
Independent Consultant Ros Rigby Independent Consultant ros@rosrigby.com
NECP Co-Chair John Mowbray Past President, North East Chamber of Commerce johndmowbray@gmail.com

 

New Writing North Claire Malcolm claire@newwritingnorth.com
Stockton Borough Council Reuben Kench Director of Culture, Events  and Leisure reuben.kench@stockton.gov.uk
Sunderland Culture and National Glass Centre Keith Merrin Director Keith.merrin@sunderland.ac.uk
Sunderland University Graeme Thompson Dean graeme.thompson@sunderland.ac.uk
Teesside University Sharon Paterson Associate Director for Culture and Engagement at mima and Teesside University S.Paterson@tees.ac.uk

 

Theatre Hullabaloo Miranda Thain Chief Executive miranda@theatrehullabaloo.org.uk
Woodhorn Charitable Trust Rowan Brown Chief Executive RBrown@woodhorn.org.uk

Observers of the NECP Board:

Organisation Name Job Title Email
Arts Council England Jane Tarr Director, Organisational Resilience, Environmental Sustainability and Newcastle Arts Council England jane.tarr@artscouncil.org.uk

 

Heritage Lottery Fund Ivor Crowther Head of Heritage Lottery Fund North East IvorC@hlf.org.uk

 

Historic England Carol Pyrah Assistant Director of Planning/ Planning Director North East carol.pyrah@historicengland.org.uk

Partnership Managers:

The management of the North East Culture Partnership is shared between Peter Bromley, Matthew Jarratt and Teresa Kirby.

Peter Bromley | peter.bromley@neculturepartnership.co.uk
After graduating in Environmental Sciences and being awarded a Masters in Environmental Management, Peter worked in the environmental sector for public and voluntary organisations for several years.

This included time with Tyne and Wear County Council and as Chief Executive for an environmental charity based in the Midlands. He then moved to English Heritage, where he was the Regional Director for the North based in Newcastle. At English Heritage, he initially covered the North East, Yorkshire and the North West; but ultimately was the Director of Regional Operations. A role which covered the work of the nine English regions including the management of their grant programme and over 400 properties, such as Hadrian’s Wall, Lindisfarne Priory, Stonehenge, Osborne House and Dover Castle. Peter then moved to work for Historic Scotland, where he was appointed as Director of Properties, responsible for 345 of Scotland’s most iconic sites, including Scara Brae, Edinburgh Castle and the Border Abbeys.

Peter moved back to work in the North East in 2015 when he joined the NECP, bringing with him this experience in the cultural and historic environment sectors. He is also a trustee on several organisations, including Arts and Heritage and the North of England Civic Trust.

Matthew Jarratt | matthew.jarratt@neculturepartnership.co.uk
After studying in the region and working as an artist for some ten years Matthew joined Northern Arts, Arts Council England in 1998.  He fulfilled various roles, such as Visual Arts Officer, Senior Manager and director of in-house public art agency Commissions North.

In 2010, Matthew took on an International Partnerships Manager role at the North East England Office, Brussels.  After leaving Art Council England in 2013 Matthew established his own cultural consultancy, developing public art commissions with private sector clients around the UK and curating a number contemporary art exhibitions in China. In 2013 Matthew started managing the North East Culture Partnership within the Association of North East Councils.

In 2014, Matthew established a new north east visual arts venue, Cheeseburn Sculpture with Joanna Riddell. Matthew is a board member with Theatre Hullabaloo, Land of Oak and Iron and the Royal Society of British Sculptors.

Teresa Kirby | teresa.kirby@neculturepartnership.co.uk 

After graduating in Cell Biology and Biochemistry at the University of York, Teresa spent two years as a PhD immunology student of University College London. On moving to the North East in 1988, she took her career in a different direction, helping organisations in Newcastle to secure over £100m of European funding. She first joined a consultancy for 2 years, advising 20 UK universities on European funding. Teresa then spent the first 7 years of the 1990s working for Newcastle City Council as a European Liaison Officer, advising the Council, Newcastle College, local businesses and 100 voluntary sector organisations on European funding. Teresa then joined Northumbria University and, during the 15 years undertook various roles, such as Deputy Director of the Regional and European Office.

After leaving Northumbria University in 2012, Teresa decided to combine her personal interests in culture by seeking a further career change, into the arts. She spent 9 months as the Development Co-ordinator at Tyne and Wear Archives Museums. Teresa then joined Newcastle City Council in a variety of roles such as: European funding, Economic Adviser and now as a Programme Manager for the Sustainable Urban Development European Regional Development Fund programme. As of 2015 Teresa now works a Partnership Manager for the North East Culture Partnership, where she manages the international and funding portfolios. In 2015, Teresa led a delegation from the North East to the Ruhr valley in Germany and, in 2016, conducted a major international survey which showed that the NE’s arts and heritage sector works with one-third of the world.