Skip to main content

North East Cultural Partnership

North East Culture Partnership Board Members

The NECP Board consists of members from the public sector, the cultural and historic environment, universities and colleges, business and the voluntary sector. It brings together arts and heritage partners from across the North East of England.

Local authority members:

Darlington – Councillor Nick Wallis, Portfolio holder for Leisure and Local Environment
Durham – Councillor Simon Henig, Leader of the Council
Gateshead – Councillor John McElroy, Cabinet Member, Culture, Sport and Leisure
Hartlepool – Councillor Kevin Cranney
Middlesbrough – * Elected Mayor David Budd (Co-Chair)
Newcastle – Councillor Kim McGuinness, Portfolio holder for Communities and Facilities
North Tyneside – Councillor Eddie Darke, Cabinet Member responsible for Leisure, Culture and Tourism
Northumberland – Councillor Val Tyler, Policy Board Member for Infrastructure and Culture
Redcar and Cleveland – Councillor Carl Quartermain
South Tyneside – Councillor Alan Kerr, Deputy Leader of the Council
Stockton on Tees – Councillor Norma Wilburn
Sunderland – Councillor John Kelly, Portfolio Holder for Public Health, Wellness and Culture

Stakeholder members:

Professor Eric Cross, Dean of Cultural Affairs, Newcastle University
Richard Evans, Director, Beamish Museum
Louise Hunter, Director of Corporate Affairs, Northumbrian Water Ltd
Adam Lopardo, Director, Community Foundation, Sponsors Club
Keith Merrin, Director, Sunderland Glass Centre
*John Mowbray, (Co-Chair) Past President, North East Chamber of Commerce
Ros Rigby, Independent Consultant
Sharon Paterson, Assistant Dean for Business Engagement in the School of Arts and Media , Teesside University
Graeme Thompson, Dean, Sunderland University
Annabel Turpin, Chief Executive, ARC
Frank Wilson, Director, Event International Company Ltd
Amanda Skelton, Chief Executive, Redcar and Cleveland Council
Terry Collins, Chief Executive, Durham County Council

*denotes Co-Chair

Back to top